A current or previous dating or marital relationship shall not be sufficient to constitute consent where consent is at issue in a prosecution under Section , , , a, or What are the laws on dating a minor in California? Amounts deposited in the Underage Pregnancy Prevention Fund may be used only for the purpose of preventing underage pregnancy upon appropriation by the Legislature. Punishments vary depending on the respective ages of both victim and offender. California Age Of Consent Law: For the purposes of this section, a "minor" is a person under the age of 18 years and an "adult" is a person who is at least 18 years of age. The person must act freely and voluntarily and have knowledge of the nature of the act or transaction involved.